Undergraduate Catalog 2019-2020

Department of Media Culture

Center for the Arts 1P

Bilge Yesil, Acting Chairperson and Associate Professor

Professors: David Gerstner, Michael Mandiberg, Edward Miller, Sherry Millner, Jason Simon, Valerie Tevere, Cindy Wong, Ying Zhu. Associate Professors: Christopher Anderson, Cynthia Chris, Bilge Yesil. Assistant Professors: Jillian Baez, Racquel Gates, Bang-Geul Han, Reece Peck, Tara Mateik.

The department offers Bachelor’s degrees in Cinema Studies and in Communications, and a Master’s degree in Cinema and Media Studies. Programs in this department focus on the principles of media, interactions with the media, and the cultures dependent upon communications technologies. The department serves students interested in the history and theory of film and various electronic and computer-related media, and in producing works with these media. The program in Communications is offered in collaboration with the Department of English. A minor is also awarded in the Baccalaureate programs. The Master’s degree program in Cinema and Media Studies is co-coordinated by Professor Reece Peck and Professor Valerie Tevere.