Undergraduate Catalog 2019-2020

The City University of New York

The City University of New York (CUNY), of which the College of Staten Island is a part, traces its beginning to 1847 and a public referendum that provided tuition-free higher education for residents of New York City. The municipal college system grew rapidly and its various colleges were consolidated as The City University of New York by an act of the New York State Legislature in 1961. CUNY is comprised of 11 senior colleges, seven community colleges, the William E. Macaulay Honors College at CUNY, the CUNY Graduate Center, the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, the CUNY School of Law, the CUNY School of Professional Studies, and the CUNY School of Public Health and Health Policy. It is the largest municipal college system and the third largest university in the nation.

The Board of Trustees

CUNY is governed by the Board of Trustees composed of 17 members, ten of whom are appointed by the Governor of New York State, and five by the Mayor of New York City. The chairperson of the University Faculty Senate serves ex officio, without vote; the chairperson of the University Student Senate serves ex officio, with vote. The individual colleges of CUNY have considerable latitude in governing their own affairs through various bodies representing faculty, students, and administrators. The Board of Trustees decides overall University policy and approves major new collegiate plans and programs.

Board of Trustees

Chairperson William C. Thompson, Jr.
Vice Chairperson Barry F. Schwartz
Trustee Michael Arvanites
Trustee Henry T. Berger
Trustee Una S. T-Clarke
Trustee Lorraine Cortés-Vázquez
Trustee Fernando Ferrer
Trustee Kevin D. Kim
Trustee Mayra Linares-Garcia
Trustee Robert F. Mujica
Trustee Brian D. Obergfell
Trustee Jill O'Donnell-Tormey
Trustee Charles A. Shorter
Trustee Ken Sunshine
Trustee Sandra Wilkin
Trustee Katherine M. Conway, Ex Officio
Trustee John Aderounmu, Ex Officio

Council of Presidents


Graduate Center

Chase Robinson, President

Graduate School of Journalism

Sarah Bartlett, Dean

School of Law

Mary Lu Bilek, Dean

School of Professional Studies

John Mogulescu, Dean

Macaulay Honors College

Ann Kirschner, Dean

School of Public Health at Health Policy

Ayman El Mohandes, Dean


Baruch College

Mitchel B. Wallerstein, President

Brooklyn College

Michelle J. Anderson, President

City College

Vincent Boudreau, Interim President

College of Staten Island

William J. Fritz, President

Hunter College

Jennifer J. Raab, President

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Carol V. Mason, President

Lehman College

Jose Luis Cruz, President

Medgar Evers College

Rudolph F. Crew, President

New York City College of Technology

Russell K. Hotzler, President

Queens College

Felix V. Rodriguez Matos, President

York College

Marcia Keizs, President


Borough of Manhattan Community College

Antonio Pérez, President

Bronx Community College

Thomas A. Isekenegbe, President

Hostos Community College

David Gomez, President

Kingsborough Community College

Farley Herzek, President

LaGuardia Community College

Gail O. Mellow, President

Guttman Community College

Scott E. Evenbeck, President

Queensborough Community College

Diane Call, President

University Administration

Interim Chancellor

Vita C. Rabinowitz

Interim General Counsel & Sr. Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs
and Sr. Vice Chancellor for Labor Relations
Pamela S. Silverblatt
Senior Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer
Matthew Sapienza
Senior Vice Chancellor for Facilities Planning, Construction and Management
Judith Bergtraum
Vice Chancellor for University Advancement
Brigette A. Bryant
Vice Chancellor & University Chief Information Officer
Brian Cohen
Interim Vice Chancellor for Human Resources and
Director of Strategic Initiatives
Margaret Egan
Senior Advisor to the Chancellor and Secretary to the Board of Trustees
Gayle Horwitz
Interim Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
Christopher Rosa
University Executive Registrar

Vivek Upadhyay