Undergraduate Catalog 2018-2019

Department of English

Building 2S

Lee Papa, Chairperson and Associate Professor

Distinguished Professor: Sarah Shulman

Professors: Ashley Dawson, Janet Ng Dudley, Maryann Feola, Katharine Goodland, Timothy Gray, Hildegard Hoeller, Tyehimba Jess, Frederick Kaufman, Catherine Marvin, Christopher Miller, Ira Shor, Patricia Smith, Christina Tortora. Associate Professors: Alyson Bardsley, Maria Bellamy Rice, William Bernhardt, L. Matthew Brim, Ava Chin, Ellen Goldner, Dalia Kandiyoti, Steven Monte, Lee Papa, Terry Rowden. Assistant Professors: Jason Bishop, Rosanne Carlo, Christina Hagedorn, Peter Keil, Suha Kudsieh, Christine Martorana, Sohomjit Ray, Simon Reader, Lara Saguisag. Lecturers: Gloria Gianoulis, Stephen Greeley, Susan Rocco, Harry Thorne, Sloane Celeste von Wertz. Higher Education Assistant: Robert Brandt.

The department offers the Bachelor's degree in English, with options in Literature, Writing, and Linguistics; and the Master's degree. The department also offers non-credit courses in reading and writing for both native and non-native speakers of English.

A general course of study provides students in career programs and in baccalaureate programs with essentials in the important areas of writing and literature. A more advanced series of courses is available for students interested in obtaining a deeper and broader understanding of the discipline, including those students who will pursue English as a major. Students with majors in other disciplines may minor in English with a literature, linguistics, or writing option. The department offers a program in Communications jointly with the faculty of the Department of Media Culture and programs in Drama and Dramatic Literature jointly with faculty of the Department of Performing and Creative Arts. The Master's degree program is coordinated by Professor Katharine Goodland. The Bachelor’s degree program in Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies is coordinated by Associate Professor Matt Brim.