Undergraduate Catalog 2018-2019

The City University of New York

The City University of New York (CUNY), of which the College of Staten Island is a part, traces its beginning to 1847 and a public referendum that provided tuition-free higher education for residents of New York City. The municipal college system grew rapidly and its various colleges were consolidated as The City University of New York by an act of the New York State Legislature in 1961. CUNY is comprised of 11 senior colleges, seven community colleges, the William E. Macaulay Honors College at CUNY, the CUNY Graduate Center, the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, the CUNY School of Law, the CUNY School of Professional Studies, and the CUNY School of Public Health and Health Policy. It is the largest municipal college system and the third largest university in the nation.

The Board of Trustees

CUNY is governed by the Board of Trustees composed of 17 members, ten of whom are appointed by the Governor of New York State, and five by the Mayor of New York City. The chairperson of the University Faculty Senate serves ex officio, without vote; the chairperson of the University Student Senate serves ex officio, with vote. The individual colleges of CUNY have considerable latitude in governing their own affairs through various bodies representing faculty, students, and administrators. The Board of Trustees decides overall University policy and approves major new collegiate plans and programs.

Board of Trustees

Chairperson William C. Thompson, Jr.
Vice Chairperson Barry F. Schwartz
Trustee Michael Arvanites
Trustee Henry T. Berger
Trustee Una S. T-Clarke
Trustee Lorraine Cortés-Vázquez
Trustee Fernando Ferrer
Trustee Kevin D. Kim
Trustee Mayra Linares-Garcia
Trustee Robert F. Mujica
Trustee Brian D. Obergfell
Trustee Jill O'Donnell-Tormey
Trustee Charles A. Shorter
Trustee Ken Sunshine
Trustee Sandra Wilkin
Trustee Katherine M. Conway, Ex Officio
Trustee John Aderounmu, Ex Officio

Council of Presidents


Graduate Center

Chase Robinson, President

Graduate School of Journalism

Sarah Bartlett, Dean

School of Law

Mary Lu Bilek, Dean

School of Professional Studies

John Mogulescu, Dean

Macaulay Honors College

Ann Kirschner, Dean

School of Public Health at Health Policy

Ayman El Mohandes, Dean


Baruch College

Mitchel B. Wallerstein, President

Brooklyn College

Michelle J. Anderson, President

City College

Vincent Boudreau, Interim President

College of Staten Island

William J. Fritz, President

Hunter College

Jennifer J. Raab, President

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Jeremy Travis, President

Lehman College

Jose Luis Cruz, President

Medgar Evers College

Rudolph F. Crew, President

New York City College of Technology

Russell K. Hotzler, President

Queens College

Felix V. Matos Rodriquez, President

York College

Marcia Keizs, President


Borough of Manhattan Community College

Antonio Pérez, President

Bronx Community College

Thomas A. Isekenegbe, President

Hostos Community College

David Gomez, President

Kingsborough Community College

Farley Herzek, President

LaGuardia Community College

Gail O. Mellow, President

Guttman Community College

Scott E. Evenbeck, President

Queensborough Community College

Diane Call, President

University Administration


James B. Milliken

Executive Vice Chancellor and University Provost

Vita C. Rabinowitz

Interim General Counsel and Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs

Jane Sovern

Vice Chancellor & University CIO

Brian Cohen

Interim Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

Christopher Rosa

Senior Vice Chancellor for Budget and Finance

Matthew Sapienza

Vice Chancellor for Labor Relations

Pamela S. Silverblatt

Interim University Vice Provost for Research

Mark E. Hauber

Vice Chancellor for Human Resources Management

Gloriana B. Waters

Vice Chancellor for Facilities Planning, Construction and Management

Judith Bergtraum

Associate Vice Chancellor for Corporate, Foundation and Major Gifts Development

Andrea Shapiro Davis

Senior University Dean/Special Counsel to the Chancellor

Dave Fields

Senior Advisor to the Chancellor for Fiscal Policy

Marc V. Shaw

Senior Advisor to the Chancellor

Ann Kirschner